Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Many congratulations to the team at Bravoleum who came 5th in the latest rankings of Best Olive Oils in the world by the World’s Best Olive Oil Campaign.  The Award, for EVOOs produced from the 2015/2016 harvest is calculated by combining the results of 14 major international extra virgin olive oil competitions.

World’s Best Olive Oils is a not-for-profit, independent, expert-led organisation who publish comprehensive and objective rankings of the world’s best olive oils and olive mills.

The reason I’m particularly pleased to congratulate the Bravoleum team is because, as you may remember, my very first tastings for this blog were from that very company.  Do you remember these handsome chaps?

bravoleum-hacienda  What excites me too is that, whilst the Award went to Bravoleum Picual rather than the Hacienda El Palo Picual that I featured, the two oils I tasted were both purchased in Supersol, a popular supermarket chain in Spain.  My point being that you can get some fabulous tasting, top quality oils from supermarkets at incredibly reasonable prices.  Extra Virgin Olive Oil is something to savour and enjoy and doesn’t have to be daunting or intimidating.  The olives used in the Hacienda El Palo are going to be from the same trees/groves as the higher quality/priced oils .

Even on their website a 500ml bottle of the Bravoleum Picual ranked 5th in the world remember – is only 8.25 Euros.  I’ll be back at Supersol in the morning to scour the shelves for the Picual and hope I’m lucky enough to pick up a bottle!

IMG_0662Looking at the table above, you’ll notice that nine of the Top 10 EVOOs are Spanish (with Italy making an appearance at number six) and of those nine an incredible eight are from producers in Andalucía (where I just happen to be living at the moment – lucky me!).

Next time I’ll tell you all about my first visit to an Olivar (olive grove) and the fabulous young team behind O-Live Medio Ambiente in the heart of the stunning Sierra de Grazalema.

Hasta pronto chicos – until next time.

 

