Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With summer holidays just around the corner many of us are busy planning our annual feast of reading and, whilst I’m not heading off to the sun this year, I’m no exception.  BooksThese three gems should keep me busy in the garden hammock or the sofa on rainy afternoons (well, I am staying in Wales for the summer so there’s a chance of at least one rainy day between now and September isn’t there?)

Although I’ve talked about The Olive Oil Diet by Judy Ridgway and Dr. Simon Poole  before and even posted recipes from the book, I haven’t finished reading it yet so that’s number one on my reading list.

The second book; Extra Virginity by investigative author Tom Mueller is subtitled: The sublime and scandalous world of olive oil.  Ooh, err.  It could get racy!

And the third, The 7 Wonders of Olive Oil is written by Alice Alech (blog: Provincial Provence) and Cécile Le Galliard (whose blog Jus d’olive is great for any French speakers out there) two olive oil enthusiasts living in different regions of France who came together via the internet through their shared passion for the liquid gold that is olive oil.  Just look at some of the chapter headings: stronger bones, cancer prevention and higher brain function – crikey it truly is a ‘wonder’ food.

7wonderscontents

All this reading is going to be exhausting so I’ll make sure to keep my strength up with lots of cups of Earl Grey tea and Judy’s Chocolate Cup Cakes – recipe and pics to follow!

